..::.. University  
 About Periyar University

The Periyar University was established by the Act No.45 of Government of Tamil Nadu in 1997. The University is named after a renowned Social Reformer popularly called “Thanthai Periyar”. The University covers the area comprising the districts of Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri and Krishnagiri. The University is situated in a village panchayat on the Bangalore Highways 10 kms from the Salem city. The University campus extends to about 100 acres accommodating the administrative and department buildings. The University is one among those recognized by University Grants Commission for receiving grants as per section 12B of UGC Act. It is a member of Association of Indian Universities and the Association of Commonwealth Universities.


The Periyar University aims at developing value-based knowledge at various fields to realize the maxim inscribed in the logo “Arival Vilaium Ulagu” ( Wisdom Maketh World ) and thereby to uplift the socially, economically and educationally backward people in particular and others in general. Periyar University has introduced area specific courses on thrust areas considering the needs and expectations of the society and industry. It is planning to introduce new demand-driven courses and expand teaching, research, training, consultancy and extension activities in the various departments of study and research in tune with the higher education policy of the State and the Central Governments in the context of the global challenges and requirements.

Professional Courses
Diploma Courses


Examination Procedure
Time Table
Degree Certificates